Page 6 of 7   4  5  6  7  

What are the types of weight-loss programmes?

Written by : DoctorNDTV Team

To lose weight one should also be aware of the different types of programmes available and the important parts of a good programme. The three types of weight-loss programmes include: do-it-yourself programmes, non-clinical programmes, and clinical programmes.

  • Do-it-yourself programmes
    Any effort to lose weight by oneself or with a group of like-minded others through support groups, worksite or community-based programmes fits in the "do-it-yourself" category. Individuals using a do-it-yourself programme rely on their own judgment, group support, and products such as diet books for advice.

  • Non-clinical programmes
    These programmes may or may not be commercially operated, such as through a privately-owned, weight-loss chain. They often use books and pamphlets that are prepared by health-care providers. These programmes use counsellors (who usually are not health-care providers and may or may not have training) to provide services. Some programmes require participants to use the programmes's food or supplements.

  • Clinical programmes
    This type of programme may or may not be commercially owned. Services are provided in a health-care setting, such as a hospital, by licensed health professionals, such as physicians, nurses, dietitians, and psychologists. Clinical programmes may offer services such as nutrition education, medical care, behaviour change therapy, and physical activity. Clinical programmes may also use other weight-loss methods, such as very low-calorie diets, prescription weight-loss drugs, and surgery, to treat severely overweight patients.

Page 6 of 7   4  5  6  7  
-------------------------------- Advertisement -----------------------------------